The Electorate of Northcote covers 21.1 square kilometres and includes the land between the Yarra River, Darebin and Merri Creeks south of Bell Street. In this boundary are the suburbs of Northcote, Fairfield, Alphington, Thornbury and some southern parts of Preston.

The electorate of Northcote was created in 1927 and has been held by Labor ever since. Arguably its most notable sitting MP was John Cain Snr who was the Premier of Victoria three times. Other notable sitting members include Frank Wilkes (a former opposition leader and minister in the Cain Government), Tony Sheehan (a former treasurer in the Kirner Government) and Mary Delahunty (my direct predecessor and a minister in the Bracks Government).

The Electorate of Northcote has a proud working tradition in the Labor mould. 60.5% of the electorate’s population are of working age between 25 and 64 which is the 5th highest proportion in Victoria. It has the highest proportion of people from a Greek background and is also home to a substantial Italian and middle eastern community. Northcote is a proudly multicultural place.

The first peoples of the Northcote area are the Wurundjeri peoples. Their part of the community is expressed powerfully by the┬áNorthcote Koori Mural, located on St Georges Road, Thornbury, and is one of the community’s most beautiful and culturally significant landmarks. Today the Victorian Aboriginal Community Services Association Ltd (VACSAL), located in Northcote, provides community services for first peoples from across the state.